Search the forum,

Discuss Mosaic fitting advice - "dogtooth" confusion in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

D

dean jones

Hi everyone,
New to this forum, but having only read threads as a non member (very useful advice and tips, so many thanks!) thought I'd join up and try to get some advice on fitting my mosaic borders.
I've fitted large tiles leaving gaps for a mosaic.
So, 5mm adhesive + 10mm main tile = 15mm gap to wall. My mosaic is 8mm glass/stone so 7mm short of the wall. I wanted to use the dogtooth method. Make a wooden jig 9mm deep, fill the gap with adhesive and scrape flat. Keraflex adhesive , not rapidset but a stiffer mix setting and leaving it wet. Then push the mosaic so only 2mm pushes back on wet adhesive and hopefully pat it level with the tiles. Will it work?

I've seen tillers on this forum leaving the screed to set and then troweling more adhesive over it and then fixing. Being an amateur, I would rather do it in one go to make it easier, and I've never used rapid cement. Should I leave the adhesive flat as I am only pushing 2mm, so hopefully it wont go through the gaps. Do I need to comb some grooves into it? Would it be better to leave the wet adhesive for 10 minutes so it's drier, or leave it wait and fix the mosaic straight onto wet? Please advise
(sorry for long winded thread and taking up your time!)

T

Time's Ran Out

Although you may prefer to do it in one go if you are filling the gap with 9mm deep adhesive you may find it slumps if too wet and if you make it dry/ thick the mosaic may not stick!
Fill it with rapid set to within 2mm of the mosaic thickness then when set just top up 2/3mm fresh adhesive and fix mosaic flush with other tiles.

W

WetSaw