Discuss Soft Joints In Floors in the Adhesive and Grout area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Cstiling

TF
Arms
Reaction score
Hi there,i have a 380m2 floor to Tile on topcem screed builder wants to use soft joints in the floor rather than expansion strips .how wide do theses joints need to be builder would like to keep them the same size as the grout joint (3mm) I was thinking they maybe need to be wider .I've never done soft joints before always use strips is a good quality silicone ok ?or is there something better ?
Thanks in advance

O

Old Mod

preformed strip?? is ?
Schluter pre-formed (ready made) expansion joint
image.jpeg

S

SJPurdy

The use to which the floor is to be put needs considering. If using soft joints or the plastic edged preformed strips then there is no/little edge protection for the tiles which could result in damage to the tile edges in heavy trafficked areas (especially if wheeled over). The pre formed strip in '3_falls' post #4 above has metal edges to protect the tiles and it also has a replaceable flexible insert (I think) should that be required.
If still going with 'soft joint' then there are probably other/better? products than silicone rubber sealant.(Minimum width of joint was 6mm last time I read BS (but that is a while ago)!
A floor that size I am surprised there is not an architect's drawing to work to which will have all this specified.

Cstiling

TF
Arms
Reaction score
Thanks for the replys , unfortunately the builder thinks he knows everything and has set all the expansion joints in the floor there's no bay bigger than 30m2 in fairness to him just won't use matting or 'expensive ' preformed stripes.
The floor is a hotel entrance /bar/eating area = 300m2 the rest are kitchens/ toilets ect so nowhere should have anything other than foot traffic .
Would anyone have a bs on soft joints I could show him if it needs to be 6mm or over might even sway him to the strips !!