Search the forum,

Discuss Newbie here with the usual set of questions in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

JohnFish

Hi all,

I am sure most of you have come across similar posts before but I have some quick questions about my first tiling job.

I am looking to tile my bathroom floor. its a very small bathroom (about 2x2m) and it currently has some kind of vinyl self-adhesive flooring. Below that i think its chipboard. I plan to use are 330x330mm ceramic tiles. So:

1) Can i tile on top of the vinyl flooring? I guess no but just wanted to confirm as well.
2) Apart from a tile cutter and a trowel are there any other tools I should have?
3) What about the things already in the bathroom (bath, sink etc). Should they be removed first?
4) On the edge of each wall there is a skirting board. Should I remove that before tiling?
5) What about sealing the edges? Is that required and if so should it be done after the tiling process is finished?
6) What kind of adhesive should I use on the floors and should I use some kind of an underlay or primer before starting?

Thanks in advance

D

DHTiling

Hello john and welcome to tilers forums.........nice post this should get a few replys...

B

brian c

1. NO dONT TILE ONTO VINYL

2. NIPPERS,SPONGES,LEVEL,GROUT FLOAT,4MM SPACERS,PENCIL,MEASURING TAPE,BUCKETS.

3. REMOVE SANITARY WARE,MAKES LIFE EASIER.

4. DONT NEED TO SEAL CERAMIC TILES.

5. CHIPBOARD FLOOR-USE TWO PART FLEXI ADHESIVE AND FLEXI GROUT.

CONCRETE FLOOR-USE RAPID SET

CHECK WITH ADHESIVE MANUFACTURER WHETHER OR NOT TO PRIME CHIPBOARD.

PRIME CONCRET FLOOR -KEEPS DUST DOWN ASWELL AS ENSURING A GOOD BOND FOR THE ADHESIVE.

J

JohnFish

5. CHIPBOARD FLOOR-USE TWO PART FLEXI ADHESIVE AND FLEXI GROUT.

Any recommendations as far as this is concerned? I have seen that the bal stuff are recommended a lot in these forums but seem awfully expensive :S

J

JohnFish

Hello john and welcome to tilers forums.........nice post this should get a few replys...