Search the forum,

Discuss General newbie advice needed? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Reaction score
I have to tile a bathroom with 300*600*9 Porcelain tiles. They are the Zafira tiles from B&Q. They are not polished but are smooth and have a sheen to them and there is a cloudy effect printed on them. They do not seem to absorb water drops but the packaging says they are unsuitable for outdoor use presumably due to risk of absorbtion and frost damage. They were very very cheap so may not be of the highest grade.

1. I am really confused as to whether they need to be sealed or not as I have read lots of horror stories about staining of unsealed tiles. How do I tell?

2. I am new to this so I am scared that when I lay them the adhesive will ooze up between the joints leaving no room for grout. Is there an easy way to avoid this so I dont have to rake it out?

3. I am worrried that the adhesive with get all over the surface of the tiles and ruin them. Should I use masking tape or is there a spray or something I can protect them with?

4. If I do get adhesive on the surface, what is the best way to remove it without loads of water running behind the tiles and diluting the adhesive?

Thanks

R

Rich

General advice - Use a sponge for everything!:thumbsup:

I love it John, short and sweet.
The mans right tho. Before you start laying the tiles get a bucket of clean water and a clean sponge next to you and as you lay the tiles just gently wipe any adhesive off of the tile and out of the joints as you go. The adhesive shouldnt do any harm to the tiles if you wash it off straight away. What adhesive and grout are you going to be using?
As for sealing the tiles, I havnt used B&Q tiles so I couldnt say, is there a phone number on the box that you can phone to find out?

T

The Legend; Phil Hobson RIP