Discuss Tiling adhesive. Which is best? in the Adhesive and Grout area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

J

Jrterror

Hi.
Just a quick question.
Which is best for tiling, ready mixed adhesive or powder?
I have ensuite walls to tile and within is a shower enclosure I presume you can buy a water proof adhesive.
Also, should I be buying some thing to water proof the area below the shower. If so, any suggestions. Don't wanna spend a fortune.
Ta

D

Dumbo

It cost's what it coat's. Yes you should waterproof the wet area and if you do that you should be using a powdered adhesive .

J

Jrterror

Hi. I removed the existing tiles, then adhesive and finally any paint that the walls were 'primed' with.
How do I tank the area?
What do I use?
Is it the same the the floors?
Sorry, complete novice

Ta

G

GoneGuy

To tank around the shower area it would be easiest to buy a tanking kit such as Mapei shower kit from your local screwfix and use that.
Powder adhesive over tub adhesive every time.

J

Julian 'Farmer' Bonsall

Waterproof cement adhesives I think are very badly described - the non-trade/pro will assume it means that water will not pass through it rather than it has sufficient bonding strength when saturated. If my coat did the same I wouldnt be overly happy.

J

Julian 'Farmer' Bonsall

Jrterror. Walls and floors should be tanked, taped on joints etc. This may help you and then likely more questions.

I am a DIY person - I have fitted wet rooms (not for trade) succesfully but I was slow (eachtime), had to remedy problems (each time) and asked a lot of advice.

Reaction score