Search the forum,

Discuss Another "Which Sigma thread" help for a numpty newby! in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

P

Pigglet

Hi, I do quite a bit of property renovation and currently have a table saw and large bridge saw I use for natural stone but I want a manual cutter for ceramics and porcelain tiles. It's not going to get used every day by any means but I'd rather buy a decent tool that will take some abuse and last with good parts back up.
I'm looking at the sigmas, want to be able to cut 600mm tiles on a diagonal and would ideally like a storage case. I want one of the MAX cutters. Other than that I'm a bit bewildered by the choice!

I have never used a manual cutter before so have no preconceived ideas about push or pull scoring. Looking at the sigma range it would appear that the max cutters are only available in push to score configuration???

I'm looking at the the 3C3MMAX and the 3d2MMAX on trade tiler. I'm not sure how much the larger bed of the 920mm machine would be needed and also if there is anything else I should be considering????

Any info and help gratefully appreciated before I part with my hard earned!

S

Sean SML Tiling

I'd buy the 3p2m which will cut 1020cm. It's also a max version and your able to either push or pull as you can change the handle around.

P

Pigglet

Thanks for the reply Sean. How much bigger is the actual unit compared to the 720mm versions? I can't ever see me wanting t cut anything bigger than 600mm so is the ability to switch from push to pull scoring worth the extra?

J

jazzhands

I have a 3C2M and have just used it to tile a bathroom with 600x300 10mm porcelain - cut through them easily, no wastage from aborted tiles.
If you want to cut diagonal corner to corner then on a 600x300 tile you have a corner/corner length of 67cm which is well within the capability of the 3C2M's 74cm max cutting length.

P

Pit-R