Search the forum,

Discuss Tile Removal - Nightmare Job in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

jaydebruyne

Hi guys n girls,

It's been a while since I posted on here. I'm a plumber by trade (1 years experience) and also gas safe (just passed) but I want to get to grips with basic tiling.

Anyway, I have a job where the basin tap is concealed behind some tiles, they've tiled onto ply. I need to remove the tiles, preferably in one piece, to be able to change the tap.

I was wondering if I could get some expert advice from you lot as to the best course of action. I was thinking I could cut out the grout and then cut through the ply with a multitool, slip the 2 tiles out still on the ply and change the tap. But I went to look at the tiling tonight and I don't think it's feasible.

Here are some photos:

Ry2GuI.jpg

76U56e.jpg

OZFB6s.jpg

The wall tiles have been fitted before the tiles the basin sits on.

Any help would be grand.

Thanks so much.

J

jaydebruyne

How do you know this?...just asking.
How do I know the valve is behind the tiles? Because concealed taps have the valve fitted behind the surface, and because I took off the heads and cover plates and physically saw the valve. I also tried removing the cartridges to replace them but both are seized onto the tap.

J

jaydebruyne

Go in from the other side of the wall.
I thought about that. My next question then is this? If the tap is on a stud, am I to cut off that section of stud and screw in a new piece once the tap has been fitted to it? Sorry for the ignorance but I've never replaced a tap from behind (wrong forum I know, but since you brought up the subject ;) )

Reply to Tile Removal - Nightmare Job in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com

There are similar tiling threads here

Hello, I'm just a home owner who doesn't have much experience with tiling but I'm looking for...
Replies
Views