Discuss dunlop flexible rapid set failures in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Reaction score
hi fellow tilers i just want to know if any other tilers have had failures while using dunlop single part flexible rapid set (white)...i have been tiling for 23 yrs and have had a big failure on a job while using this....anyone else had any oproblems...cheers for reading...look forward to some feedback

Reaction score
whats the problem ? :pete
problem is that a vast ammount of the tiles have blown....spoke to builder and he assures me the under floor heating wasnt whacked up to full and was gradually turned up(well thats what he has told me i cant proove this)......i have never had a problem before.....so if he is telling the truth the only other thing is the adhesive.........have mentioned it in shop i get most of my materials from and they refuse to stock it as they have had complaints....rang BAL they deny any knowledge of problems.....bottom line is that i could go bust over this......cheers ofr reply pete

G

grumpygrouter

I have never used dunlop adhesives, and with stories like this I don't know whether I should or not. Is this just an isolated case?

Reaction score
I use this quite a bit doing limestone and marble. Had a failure with it, did the job about 2 years ago onto existing ceramic tiles. Had to go back a few weeks ago to change a few of the porcelain I laid as they had smashed. Took up the tiles and the adhesive just crumbled in my hands, fell off of the back of the tiles and lifted straight off the floor. I sent samples away to BAL to be tested, but haven't heard back yet. If you get no joy with them go to Ceram research. There is an inherant problem in trying to mix white adhesive at the factory, lost count of times I had to throw not only bags but pallets away due to the mix being wrong and the stuff going off as fast as you could mix it.