Search the forum,

Discuss Your Top Tiling Tips. in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

JIMBOB187

Evening all,

OK so things are going well (touch wood) taking bookings towards the end of May now, loads of work from marketing campaign and Topps as my store has rolled out the approved fitting scheme and I was lucky enough to be chosen as one of two fitters, but, and there is always a but, I am concerned about my speed and I do not want to start rushing my work.

I know people get faster with time and this I can see happening with myself aswell but I am worried that as I am self taught there may be methods/ tips I would have learn't on a course that I may never see and obviously you more experienced trades people will have taught yourself tips and tricks along the way.

So I will kick it off with a humble suggestion of something I have learnt and has seriously begun to P*SS me of;

1. Remember where you put your bloody pencil.:mad2:

Jim

I would just like to add that ideally time and finances willing I would definetly like to attend a course as this can only help my confidence, business currently just covering the bills at this early stage but a course is I think something I want to do.

E

enduro

My tip would be keep your tiling as clean as you can wipe adhesive from tiles and joints as you fix, dont leave to the next day when you are going to grout and you then have to spend a hour raking adhesive out of joints or scraping off tiles.

H

hillhead

a course might help you a bit but experience with other great tilers is the way to go i reckon,in 20 years you'll still be learning new trick so don't panic,i'm learning quickly and my confidence is very high,3 years in and i was showing a tiler of 8 years how to tile around a bar yeaterday and ended up doing it myself,he had even won a trade competition !!!! but i'm always watching all tiling everywhere,even when i'm out shopping,lol. great fun.

Joe.
:hurray: come on the toon

D

DHTiling