Search the forum,

Discuss Tiling on plasterboard in shower cubicle in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

P

PhiliousFog

Hi,

I've just registered on this forum as I need some advice and having read some of the threads already I'm sure I've come to the right place!

I'm not a professional tiler but your everyday home DIY'r! I'm having to re-grout some of my tiles in my shower cubicle. I successfully removed the old grout around the 2 tiles which needed attention. I have also removed the silicon sealant along the bottom of these 2 tiles where they meet the shower tray. The sealant was going moldy despite saying on the tube anti mold!! Will not buy unibond sealant again! Have taken advice and now bought some Dow Corning 785. As a result of removing the surrounding old grout and the silicon the 2 tiles in question fell off!

Behind the tiles over the top of the plasterboard was a kind of baking paper. Not sure what this is but it was pretty perished and flaked off in my hands. I removed this paper in the space where the 2 tiles were, reomoved all the old adhesive off the tiles, spread some new waterproof adhesive on the tiles and set back on the wall, making sure I plugged the gaps at the bottom with some small pieces of wood to stop the tiles dropping whilst setting.

Well almost 24 hrs later the tiles havnt stuck and have fallen off again!!

Having read a few threads this morning, it appears that I need to treat the plaster board with a primer, such as BAL SBR?

If anyone can advise what I need to do to get my shower back to normal I'd be very grateful indeed!

Cheers

Phil

P

PhiliousFog

Just to add, I'ts just clicked what the paper is, it's the top paper covering on the plasterboard! This has obviousley got damp as a result of the cracks in the old grout and the water getting through, all makes sense now!

Will I be able to use a primer directly onto the plaster of the plasterboard?

Cheers

Phil

R

rhyd4