Search the forum,

Discuss tileing on gloss paint in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

A

andyb_987

Hi everyone,
Just priced up my first job :hurray: Quick question, there is gloss paint on the wall. Is it okay just to score the paint then prime and tile straight on top?

All help appreciated cheers:grin:

A

andyb_987

My notes say use the 10 min tape test. IF sound then wash with sugar soap then score heavily every 50mm to aid adhesion.
Alternatvily (I know spelling) remove the paint altogether. mechanical method not strippers.
Hey guys I am new to tiling done a bit for my family and figured that I could make money as I have done a good job for myslf and family,
So I have done a course at the NETT in Jan which was a good course.

I will post answers to other peoples thread once I have more experience and confidence.

I was a bit annoyed though that answered my question:furious3:
But hey I m over it and look forward to more communacation with all u fellow tilers:yes:
cheers:grin:
Out of interest are my notes correct?

G

grumpygrouter

Not wanting to contradict what NETT say so, yes! It is also what I learned on my course and that wasn't NETT.

Grumpy

G

GazTech

My notes say use the 10 min tape test. IF sound then wash with sugar soap then score heavily every 50mm to aid adhesion.
Alternatvily (I know spelling) remove the paint altogether. mechanical method not strippers.
Hey guys I am new to tiling done a bit for my family and figured that I could make money as I have done a good job for myslf and family,
So I have done a course at the NETT in Jan which was a good course.

I will post answers to other peoples thread once I have more experience and confidence.

I was a bit annoyed though that answered my question:furious3:
But hey I m over it and look forward to more communacation with all u fellow tilers:yes:
cheers:grin:
Out of interest are my notes correct?