Search the forum,

Discuss questions from new tiler in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

D

daz825

hi,
im new to tiling, have been doing it for the last few months and theres a few questions that have arisen. i would be really gratefull if anyone could help.

#ive only tiled floors on 2 different surfices, concrete and 12mm ply, every time ive come accross another type of timber floor ive put a 12mm ply board down and i know this is the right way to go about things but i dont know why? why can't i tile onto floorboards if the adhesive will take to it? are there any other types of floor that i can tile onto? chipboard ext? and what would happen if i did just tile streight over floorboards? (im not going to, but i would like to know) do i still need to put ply down if im also fixing those undertile heat saving boards? (raises floor even more) and why 12mm?
#what happens if i add a bit more water to my already mixed adhesive and mix it again? will it take? the sticky finger test would suggest so.
#to fix porcailin to concrete ive been using a flexable adhesive, but is this nessicary? i know the back of porcailain does not absorb the same as ceramic and you need a stronger stick but non flex is half the price.?
#what are caustic tiles? and what special requirements do they require (sealing ect) turned down a very nice job because i didnt know enough about this!
#is there a difference between wall & floor grout? what are the differences between wide joint and non wide joint? to me it all just seems like grout!

i know there are a lot of questions here and id be really grateful if anyone could help me out here.

thanks.

P

Perry

Daz maybe one question at a time a good start is look at all the Major adhesive manufactures web sites and read there tec specs then if u don't understand then ask and u will get plenty of help but start by helping yourself Regards Pete

W

wivers