Search the forum,

Discuss NVQ Floor and Wall Tiling- 3 years Experience- but I didnt? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

jonty

I have been doing an NVQ 2 in tiling at college since September and will finish the course in June but I have read posts that say you need 3 yrs experience to do an NVQ but I had no experience of tiling when i started the course? Any info appreciated

T

tysfoot

where did you find this course from.... im from manchester and cant find any....

What are the courses like. ive been tiling for about 8 months now and would love to learn advanced techniques

F

Fekin

I don't really think there is any "advanced techniques" in tiling, just more complicated pattens to create.

H

howard

where did you find this course from.... im from manchester and cant find any....

What are the courses like. ive been tiling for about 8 months now and would love to learn advanced techniques

i think they do a nvq course in salford i cant remember where . i looked at it on the internet last year

C

ChaseTiling

Hi all,

Well, this is a common one that is raised Re: NVQ's.

The NVQ programme for Tiling is written by the CAA, who also write the programme for the Intermediate Constrcution Award. The ICA is the FULL underpinning knowledge required for an NVQ2 in Tiling. This is how you can get an NVQ2 quickly instead of having to wait 3 years.

They are basicaly saying that if you do 'our accredited training', then we know you have been trained correctly and therefore we can trust you to do an NVQ and pass it.

If you have done your training elsewhere, even though it may be accredited by another awarding body, we can't trust the quality of the training and therefore require you to have 3 years experience, just in case :)

We run a 26 week NVQ course, for potential tilers that have never touched a tile in their life. Needless to say, these courses are extrememely popular.

L

LM Ceramics