Search the forum,

Discuss Need your feed back people! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

T

timburnett@blue

How do everyone!, My name is Tim from Bristol and I am in no way related to the tile industry whatsoever but I have a question and would hope that some of you guys may answer it.The problem I have is that I am not a small bloke (6ft 5 and about 20 stone!) and even though I have sealed around between my bath and tiles many times I still have to end up scraping out and resealing it time and time again. Is there anything on the market that would allow plenty of flex that wont break down after time as I have an idea as to how to combat it but as of yet I cant find anyone who manufactures such a thing to do anything like whats needed?

CJ

TF
Arms
Reaction score
The bath is still flexing.

Cut out ALL the old silicon, and clean throughly
Then fill bath as far as possible, then re-silicon......and leave for 24 hours

Or you could look at these types of bath seals.........not the ideal solution as they do tend to look manky after a while:furious3:

Topps tiles do a version which allows more movement than some of the others on the market.:yes:

http://www.trimlux.com/pdf/Trimlux%20Point%20of%20Sale.pdf

D

DHTiling

Hello tim...........try tele-seal from screwfix........

Teleseal Shower Seal 200ml - NoLinksToThis, Where the Trade Buys

twinlog

TF
Reaction score
Hiya Tim & Welcome to the Forum :grin:
Is the bath secured to the wall correctly with two small angle brackets?
If not and you do not want to remedy this the correct way, you can secure it by means of timber under the bath against all walls if you get the jist!
Also are the feet correctly adjusted and screwed to the floor?
This should be checked before the sealant is done, for obvious reasons.
Ever heard of a trojancast bath? This will never move once fitted correctly!