Search the forum,

Discuss Loose Shower Tiles Help! in the The Welcome Forum area at TilersForums.com.

S

SteveG81

Hi All,
I'm after some advice on loose tiles. I had some grout that had fell out of the bottom layer of tiles over time. I got new but when I removed two tiles fell out! I got some adhesive out the shed and re-did the two tiles. They fell off so I assumed the adhesive had gone off as it was old.

So I went and bought some mapegrip D1 adhesive. It's a wooden wall, so I dries for wall and PVa on it like it had originally to seal it. Now one tile has stuck and one is loose again!

What am I doing wrong? Is it the wrong adhesive? I'm no tiling expert but in the past I have done my kitchen wall and floor with no problems.

I just want my shower to be water proof lol!!! Thank you for reading this.

S

SteveG81

Thanks for the replays. I've just googled tanking and will do that before getting the shower completely re tiled in a few months. Maybe the powdered flexi adhesive will get me away for now?

We are having the kitchen done at the minute which is a major hassle I want a break before attacking the bathroom lol

O

Old Mod

So I went and bought some mapegrip D1 adhesive. It's a wooden wall, so I dries for wall and PVa on it like it had originally to seal it.

Does that mean you primed it with PVA?
If it does, then that's compounding your problem.
Do not use it!!!!
Wash it off, yes it'll wash off, that's why it'll compound your problem.
When it gets wet it becomes 'live' again.
Let the wall dry thoroughly before re priming.
Use the primer suggested by the adhesive manufacturer, it's not cheap in comparison to PVA, but it's a hell of a lot cheaper than a new kitchen ceiling!

T

Tile Shop