Discuss Floor surface for ground floor wet room in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

M

Moss

Hi

This is my first time posting so hope it is in the right place.

I am renovating and old house and currently about to fit out a bathroom on the ground floor. The bathroom is currently in a bigger room and has 2 external walls and the other 2 walls will be partitioned to separate it from the bigger room.

I replaced the entire ground floor with a new concrete floor about a month ago. My plan for the bathroom floor is to do a wet room and I mentioned it to the builder who was pouring the concrete floor so he suggested that the bathroom part be poured 2 inches lower to allow a fall to be screended towards the shower drain so this is what they did.

The bathroom is 2180mm by 1500mm with a sliding door on a 1500 wall and the shower opposite on the other 1500 wall. I am currently putting up the partition walls which will have a wall hung wc and will then be ready to screed the floor but don't know what to use. The dept of the floor will 2 inches sloping down to just under 1 inch ( on top of 4 inches reinforced concrete). Is this too thin for a concrete screed? What else can I use as a screed on the floor? The 4 inch reinforced floor is down for 5 weeks now and seams very dry, should this be primed?

My plan is to have it finished for Christmas so plenty of time but I also want to allow the screed to fully dry before tanking/tiling.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated
Thanks

D

Dumbo

Get a preformed wet room tray and stick that down and get matching thickness tile backer board for the rest of the room and yes prime the floor .

Ajax123

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
More than 25mm fall? Seems a lot...

M

Moss

Thanks for the help above.