Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss Excess dried grout on tile lines in the Tile Adhesive / Grout Advice area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

B

Battleroc

Hi All,

So I just started tiling my house, I am a bit of a novice but thought I would give it a go.

Me and my wife have purchased a house and decided to tile the whole of the downstairs in the wood effect porcelain type plank 150 x 600 (about 70sq metres)

I stared using Mapei ultra colour grout on the floor tiles and took on
10 sq metres in 1 go BIG mistake.

It dried to quick and I managed to clean the face of the tiles but the grout lines are a bit thick ( 3m spaces used)

The grout lines look a big jagged so instead of having a nice line there are bits slightly over.

Any suggestions on removing the excess?

IMG_1860.PNG

O

Old Mod

You might try something like Deterdek, it may soften the edges enough for you to tidy it up.
It'll get rid of those grout stains tho.
Follow instructions exactly!
It does matter, it's not an electrical product you can try first, and then read the instructions after when it don't work!

W

WetSaw

An acid based cleaner may do it but check in a discreet place first. Too much can take the colour out of the grout.

B

Battleroc

Thanks,

What would you use to remove the excess once the acid wash is put down?..... A sponge?

W

WetSaw

Clean water and a sponge. You may need a scourer or white pad to help remove the excess.

Albert

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
If that doesn't work you can use a tungsten tipped chisel to gently scrape the joints

O

Old Mod

You must pre wet the area with water, then put down the acid (you'll probably have to use it neat) and agitate with a white scourer for a couple of minutes.
Leave to work for a few more, do not let it dry on the tiles.
Neutralise with water and
a white scourer (clean one)