Discuss Tiling Questions from absolute newbie in the Australia area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

C

cooa99

Hi guys,

I have some question regarding tiling. Though I am not doing the work myself, I would just like to make sure the job is done well using the right materials

The tiling is for a small cloakroom (1.51m x 0.8m). I have purchased ceramic wall tiles of size 310x450 and floor tiles of size 450x450.

The cloakroom wall is plasterboard. 2 adjacent sides fixed to brick wall with dot & dab, the other two sides are stud walls. The plasterboard walls are painted except for areas where I have had to the replace the plasterboards ....

My questions are :-

1) Can I Tile directly over the walls or do they need to be primed 1st with PVA?
2) Are the weight of these tiles OK for these plasterboard walls? .... how do I check the weight restrictions
3) will using different spacer size for walls and floor tiles be weird or use the same?
4) The Tiles i bought from Tile Giant have something like candle wax on them... maybe for protection. Do these have to be removed before or after tiling and grouting?
5) Which mapei grout adhesive should I use ? ...there just seems to be too many options

cheers

Reaction score
If your asking if you need to Pva walls before tiling, I would suggest ask a tiler to quote for this install. If its the same job as when whitebeam said you joined the forum. Don't use any of the grout or adhesive that was supplied.

Andy Allen

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
1 ...dont use pva use an acrylic primer

2.....weight will be fine but remove the paint

3 ......2 mm spacers on the walls and 3mm on the floor will look fine

4......I remove wax after tiling but definitely remove before grouting

5....any slow set adhesive make sure its powder adhesive you mix yourself
And grout should be your choice of colour..

C

cooa99

Thank you all for your replies.

You joined over 2 years ago ???