Search the forum,

Discuss questions on shower design and fitting in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

A

alan beard

Hi

I think I am a reasonably competent DYer but I have limited experience with Bathrooms at this stage.
I am trying to plan the design and fitting of a new bathroom, including a shower and I have some questions.

I am looking at using a shower tray and tiling the wall, my first concern is working out how to fit seal the tanking to the shower tray. I am not sure if to use a tray with an up-stand, although many of the trays I have seen do not have an up-stand. If there is an up-stand it's fairly obvious how to finish the tanking against the up-stand, but if there is no up-stand how do I make the seal onto the tray. The thought I had was just to run the tanking down onto the top of the tray but I am concerned that I will only have the tile thickness to make the joint, am I missing something obvious? Then also I think the tanking is normally glued using tile adhesive, is this suitable for joining on to the shower tray as well?

I have thoughts about running the tanking under the tray as well and then fitting he tray and using some more tanking to seal the gap between tray and wall, is this a sensible idea or would I cause other problems.?

The shower will be a quadrant built into a corner with one normal plastered wall and one will be a stud wall. My thought wouldbe to use 4*2 vertical timbers on a 400mm spacing with some noggins in the shower valve area and 12.5mm pb. Will this be stiff enough for the tilling?