Discuss Patching/render brick before tiling in the America area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Rahrah

-
Reaction score
Hi everyone, hopefully someone can help me. I have a brick wall that’s had render put on it and then tiled. I am the tiling the area and scraped off most of the tile adhesive today but the company got their property maintenance guy to start taking it off and realized it was too hard.. BUT he has taken off some of the render on the brick work. Can someone tell me the best and easiest way to fill this render? Do I just use some bond Crete and apply a render for patching before tiling? Any help would be muchly appreciated I have pics but can’t seem to upload them? Most of the tender is completely fine, it’s a bottom section probably 40cm x 30cm that needs patching

Reaction score
I don't have a great experience because I'm a computer monitoring software developer.

On this forum recently since I started home repairs and have questions.

But I searched the Internet for answers and this is what I managed to find out.

If the render on the brick wall has been damaged and needs to be patched before tiling, here are some steps you can take:

Clean the damaged area: Use a wire brush or scraper to remove any loose or damaged render from the brick wall. Make sure the surface is clean and free of dust and debris.
Apply bonding agent: Apply a bonding agent to the damaged area using a brush or roller. This will help the new render bond to the brick wall.
Mix and apply the render: Mix the render according to the manufacturer's instructions. Apply the render to the damaged area using a trowel or float, making sure to fill the area evenly and smoothly. If the patch is deep, you may need to apply the render in multiple layers, allowing each layer to dry before applying the next.