Discuss Newcomer to the forum - in the The Welcome Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

I

Ian Marsh

Hi all. I'm an amateur, although I've done quite a bit of tiling in the past with small ceramic tiles, but as I'm redoing a bathroom and using 30 x 60 cm porcelain tiles I thought I would get on the forum and research the process a bit more so that hopefully I don't **** it up !
The job is for myself and I'm retired so not trying to do it in a hurry.
I made a start this morning which was a bit of a disaster. I have unwisely got fastset adhesive (20 kg bags of 'tilechoice') and mixed 10kg of it with the prescribed amount of water, both accurately measured out but the mix turned out much stiffer than I expected and the whole lot became unusable in about 20 minutes plus was a real struggle to apply. I suppose I should have followed my instinct and put more water with it . I'm thinking now to make up another smaller mix, with more water , but maybe wet the aquapanel and tile back as well? Any suggestions would be gratefully received!

O

Old Mod

Hi Ian, and welcome to the forum.

You mention Aquapanel, is it in a wet area? (Shower)
If it is, you'd be advised to still tank it, it's not actually waterproof.
It's just uneffected by moisture, meaning that it will stay in tact if it's subjected to wetting.
Best piece of advice I could give about the adhesive, is to stop using it if it's not a financial issue, then invest in a reputable branded slow set adhesive.
Shop around because it differs wildly in price from supplier to supplier.
Check online, there maybe a supplier within easy reach. The better adhesives are worth the extra expense if it's something within your budget.
And just mix enough for a few tiles at a time, until you feel more confident perhaps.
I can assure you there very few tilers on here that will use rapid set on walls.