Tile Forum | America Tile Forum

Welcome to America Tile Forum, the USA Tile Industry. The Tile Association of America.

Discuss College task – help needed please in the Australia area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

O

Oli_Spencer

I’ve been set a task at college that I would like some help with please?

The aim of the task is to persuade tilers to buy their tiles directly from the manufacturer rather than their local trade/tile store. So my question is what would make you switch from buying from a distributor to a manufacturer? Would it be things such as cash back on orders? Being part of a loyalty scheme that included exclusive offers and discounts etc?

The second part of my task is how would I (if I was the manufacturer) communicate this best with you? So my question is where do you take notice of offers? Emails, Facebook, Twitter, Blogs, Forums, other tiling websites?

O

Oli_Spencer

No, I'm a student studying Marketing and this is the task that has been set in our online marketing module. I'm just keen on hearing feedback to go into my research.

S

Spare Tool

99% of jobs i do the customer has already chosen the tiles or has a very good idea what they want and we're just employed to fit them properly...being a tiler isn't about buying tiles.
You can advise a customer where to go for the best choice and advice but its really down to their personal preferences...

W

White Room

I doubt any manufacturer would entertain a tiler buying direct from them..distributers seems our contact for supply, I just point the customer in the right direction.

T

Time's Ran Out

No manufacturer would be interested in supplying a tiler direct.
They would try to supply tile shops if they can't get into the major retailers, but the quantities they'd need to supply could make it uneconomical .

S

Spare Tool

Any kitchen fitters out there....special offer on tree's freshly cut. Erm no thanks I'll go to Howdens.