Search the forum,

Discuss Which one? - DIY Kitchen Tiling Job :) in the Tile Adhesive / Grout Advice area at TilersForums.com.

Reaction score
Good Afternoon.

Looking at taking on my first DIY Tiling job in our kitchen. I will be covering roughly 3.5m2 and will be using a 20x10cm ceramic tile (ToppsTiles Matrix White tile).

Watched various online videos etc but i'm confused which adhesive i should use. Was initially set on a ready mixed one for ease etc but after reading many reviews on different sites im now even more confused than before.

I just wanted something that was easy to work with, wasn't going to set to quick as this is my first time tiling.

I have borrowed this picture from another thread (sorry to the owner), basically our kitchen is identical so its mainly a splashback but we don't have the small upstand anymore.

Any recommendations please would be appreciated.

kitchen.jpg

Last edited:

Dave

TF
Staff member
Arms
Esteemed
Reaction score
I have no idea, i haven't tried/didn't know to test it to be honest. All i know its probably a trade type emulsion.

When you say 'wet up', what do you mean? can it be wiped clean?

I mean does it darken when wet. If so then it’s porous and needs to be removed , some can simply be scrubbed off with a scotch pad.
it’s not really advisable to tile on emulsion.

As for adhesive choice , then the one Julian mentioned is ok for that size tiles , follow instructions on the bucket

Reaction score
I mean does it darken when wet. If so then it’s porous and needs to be removed , some can simply be scrubbed off with a scotch pad.
it’s not really advisable to tile on emulsion.

As for adhesive choice , then the one Julian mentioned is ok for that size tiles , follow instructions on the bucket

Ok thank you, will check tonight. Around the cooker/hob area it does have staining from oil etc which i was going to lightly sand/key up prior to fitting the tiles anyway. Then would it be beneficial to clean with sugar soap?