Search the forum,

Discuss Wetroom help, builders did an off! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

Jlp

Hi guys,

I am new to this forum, so please excuse me if I make any glaring errors.

I have been installing kitchens and bathrooms for the last 10 years but havealways avoided wet rooms.

I am workingfor my best mate who had a dormer conversion to his bungalow over 3 years ago.I am also trying to keep costs down as he is close to his witts end with thisproject, not to mention his poor wife and they have twins on the way!!

To cut a longstory short, the first lot of builders went bust half way through the job, thesecond lot ran back to an east European country with the money and the thirdlot flatly refused to do anything about the bathroom.

The room is nowcomplete, it is approx 2.4M * 3.5M, an L shape .

Most of theequipment req’d is on site having been sourced by the builders.

As it stands,the floor has been leveled with a Self Levelling Compound and has a UFH cableembedded in it, from the edges, it looks like the sub floof was WBP Ply andChipboard with a 6mm Hardibacker on top.(the original chip floor was removed insome areas and replaced with WBP as the first lot of chippies got the joistheights wrong, the second lot shimmed and added noggins which was passed by thebuilding inspector)

This isfinished flush with a 1150 *1150 wetroom former in one corner. I would imaginethe former was originally 1200 * 1200 but has been trimmed on two sides to suitthe position of the waste. (it may be an aquadec, but I am not sure, my matesaid that the original builders said it was a ***** to cut and that it lookedlike being made from stone resin.)

At present thewalls are a mixture of skimmed plaster board and Plywood, we have a load ofMarmox boards on site and a roll of Durabase CI .