Discuss Tiling onto self-leveller in the America area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Reaction score
I've just had the whole ground floor of a house we are working on levelled with a pump in liquid screed. It's an anhydrite so we are going to grind it & prime it to remove surface latency.

I'm risk-averse when it comes to tiling, and usually always use decoupling membranes but we do not have the height in the doorways to add anything extra as it's right on the limit of over-trimming standard doors.

I'm interested to know if people think tiling straight onto a primed leveller is ok? The subfloor is floorboard with joists at no more than 350mm centres. Leveller is approx 15mm thick.

Reaction score
Hi coastal I'm new to the forum but I've been tiling in the UK just north of London for 27 years.
Tile master and bal both do a thin uncoupling membrane.
Only about 1 mm thick. So height increase is minimal.
I put it through doorways on unheated screeds to try and minimise the risk of cracking cutting round door linings.
You don't say if there is ufh.
No ufh just prep the floor as you described and tile.
Laying tiles on floors with ufh even if it's been commissioned and run for a while can still sometimes cause issues.

Reaction score
Hi coastal I'm new to the forum but I've been tiling in the UK just north of London for 27 years.
Tile master and bal both do a thin uncoupling membrane.
Only about 1 mm thick. So height increase is minimal.
I put it through doorways on unheated screeds to try and minimise the risk of cracking cutting round door linings.
You don't say if there is ufh.
No ufh just prep the floor as you described and tile.
Laying tiles on floors with ufh even if it's been commissioned and run for a while can still sometimes cause issues.
Thank you for this, to confirm there is no UFH and the only threshold is also levelled through into the next room.

Reaction score
A layer of thin crackmat through the door.