Search the forum,

Discuss tile weight issues in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

S

saintdom

morning all

have these polished marble tiles to fix , i spent alot of time making sure everything was done properly as this is my first time fixing marble.

i went to get a sample tile yesterday to check the weight, jesus the thing is 5.2 kgs 400x400 tile 10mm thick. well by my reckoning thats 30kgs a sq meter without any ady or grout.

can someone tell me how much ady is used in a sq meter, was going to use a 10/12 mm notch .

unfortunatly the shower area has already been plastered which means this is a no go , but what could i offer as an altenative , i guess just rip the plasterboard down and put up new without plastering it.

is it 25 kgs sq m on plaster and 42 for plaster board mechanically fixed.

thanks for your time hope you can help

dom

G

grumpygrouter

No, it is 20kg/m2 for plaster and 32kg for plasterboard (unskimmed). If you have heavy tiles, best to remove the plaster board and replace with backerboard of some sort like Hardie 500 or aquapanel for instance.

O

Olz

morning all

have these polished marble tiles to fix , i spent alot of time making sure everything was done properly as this is my first time fixing marble.

i went to get a sample tile yesterday to check the weight, jesus the thing is 5.2 kgs 400x400 tile 10mm thick. well by my reckoning thats 30kgs a sq meter without any ady or grout.

can someone tell me how much ady is used in a sq meter, was going to use a 10/12 mm notch .

unfortunatly the shower area has already been plastered which means this is a no go , but what could i offer as an altenative , i guess just rip the plasterboard down and put up new without plastering it.

is it 25 kgs sq m on plaster and 42 for plaster board mechanically fixed.

thanks for your time hope you can help

dom

Plasterboard is 32kg/m2 mate not 42kg/m2,