Search the forum,

Discuss Repairing loose tiles on Electric UFH in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

jwho

Hi everyone

Just found your site whilst searching for online help with our bathroom tiles - looks like a good forum so I hope someone can help, as I have very little experience laying tiles!

We have one or two loose porcelain 300x600mm tiles on our bathroom floor. This was fitted for us 7 months ago and for personal reasons we'd rather not get the tradesman back to fix it. I am really keen to try to fix this myself and would like to ask the advice of those with more experience.

It was (or at least, I hope it has been) fitted with a plywood board layer on top of the floor boards and the Warmup electric UFH loose wire system laid on top. We supplied the BAL flexible adhesive and Warmup UFH system.

When standing on one end of these large floor tiles, there is a little movement (about 1mm) vertically. Over time this has caused the grout to crack and come loose around the edge of the tile.

I am hoping that I can remove the remaining grout around the problem tiles (e.g. using a grout saw) and loosen the tile from its adhesive by rocking it in place by applying pressure to either end. Then lift tile and clean off adhesive underneath tile and on plywood board underfloor - taking care not to damage the UFH wires. Then mix up and apply new BAL flexible adhesive to floor and replace tile.

Does this sound feasible - does anyone have any advice on this?

Many thanks.

-William

D

DHTiling

Hi William.

Do you know if the UFH wires were encased in self levelling compound..? if not then it will be very difficult to clean this up without damage.. are you sure it is a loose tile and not just deflection issue with the substrate causing the grout to crack etc.?

J

jwho