Search the forum,

Discuss Newby Questions Please in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

S

steadsy-boy

Hi all , another Newby I afraid , I been working with a self taught tiler to gain experience before I try to do it my self , done a course a few years back but never done anything with it because lack of experience and confidence , we been doing a lot of complete bathrooms for a large well known kitchen and bathroom supplier , fitters go in , strip and replaster where needed , we tile walls and floors then they fix but things I witness I have to question although the end result looks good and regularly praised, , so please can any professional tiler answer me these questions please

1 what are your thoughts on PVA is it necessary and when where would you use it

2 is it acceptable on uneven walls to dot and dab tiles to overcome poor substrates

3 when you have worked out your tiles are going does everyone work off battens ? I witness the tiler fixing bottom row first which are usually cuts and then works up , to me it just seems awkward and time consuming

4 when starting tiling from round the bath do you try and lay full tiles or always cut into the bath a they show on the training course

5 what happens if you don't tank shower areas and would you tank when shower on a bath attatchment

thanks in advance for you replies , can I just say it is a vey different ball game out in the real world to the class room but I gonna stick with it as I would like to achieve this for myself , if any one wants an oik to cut , grout , polish and make the tea in the west sussex ( Worthing ) area please give me a shout would love to see how its done by a profesinal

O

Old Mod

Ok so seems Pva is. No no so what would you use on new plaster or don't you ??
The primer that is recommended by your chosen adhesive manufacturer.
It may seem like I'm stating the bleedin obvious, but it happens to be true. Haha