Search the forum,

Discuss Fitting Travertine tiles in new build house - advice very welcome in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

F

fd3typer2

Hi, first post here so be gentle ... :lol:

I'm a reasonably experienced builder and a fair tiler and have a job coming up for a good client. It's a bathroom in a newish build house. Stud walls and water resistant flooring board etc.

Client wants travertine tiles on the floor and walls so I have been reading up on the old travertine as I've never done it before. The tiles I think are Topps tiles Honed and filled 10mm, 60x40 on the floor and something like 20x30mm on the walls

This is what I plan to do but have a few questions along the way..

Floor - I think i need hardibacker on the floor (6 or 12mm?). Do I lay it down on a bed of flexible adhesive or screw it down straight to the floor?

Wall - because of the weight of the tiles I can't put the tiles straight on right? So, do I need to screw 6mm hardibacker onto the plasterboard stud partition (finding the joists of course).
And do I just screw or do I have to have some adhesive between the hardibacker and plasterboard?
And for screws, countersink drywall screws or is there something else more clever?

Do I need the expansion gap at the bottom of the wall tiles? If so, how do you guys usually do this? With just tile spacers?

Sealant - seal before or after sticking the tiles, and before or after grouting?

Adhesive - I have LOADS of Green star tubs, can I use this. I'm expecting a no, but would prefer to hear a yes to save me some cash :smilewinkgrin:

I'm sure the answers are somewhere on this board but can't seem to find them. Sorry if the questions are repeated

Many many thanks in advance to all you gods of tiling :drool5:

D

DHTiling

Hello and welcome....Tubbed on floors...:oops:...:smilewinkgrin:.

Couple questions first plz..

How thick is the chipboard floorboards..and are the walls plastered.?

D

diamondtiling