Search the forum,

Discuss Engineer To Tiler? Questions & Advice in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

J88

Hi,

I'm currently a desk based engineer but don't particularly enjoy it and would much prefer to get out of the office and get more hands on. Before this job I had previously done manual labor and even though the pay was rubbish actually had a better feeling of job satisfaction.

I'm looking into different trades I could possibly get into and tiling is something I keep going back too but with rent to pay and a baby on the way very soon its a big risk to leave my current job.

I don't mind being self employed (have been previously) but the contradiction trades seem very much to be about who you know and having good contacts for getting regularly work...and I have none so that is the first of my worries if I was to take the leap.

Secondly,a few years down the line will I be able to earn enough money. I don't want to take a pay drop. I need to be earning min. £20k profit, ideally £25k+. Is this achievable. I am reading conflicting messages on income potential. Tradesmen near me always appear to be doing well but then you also hear lots saying they are struggling.

I'm not a fan of these short courses that promise the world are there any decent ones or should I just forget about these all together?

How to get work? No trade contacts,? Big worry. Doing work in evenings and weekends outside of my current job is something I would like to do but how I get these jobs I haven't figured out at this stage.

Any help would be great. I have the ability and the business sense to do this I just have doubts as to taking the first step and what steps this should be. Hard work, sense of accomplishment and financial reward is what I am looking for.

Thanks

W

White Room

Courses maybe your first option unless you can work with a tiler in your area but you wouldn't be earning £25'000 a year to start with so a drop in money is inevitable.