Search the forum,

Discuss Advice on best tiling course in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

johnboy1

I have been working as a painter and decorator for the past 5 years but i have always been very interested in tiling. I was just woundering if it is possible to learn how to tile to a good standard in 10 days as you see on theses fast track training courses. I want to be confident enough to take on tiling jobs as well as my painting jobs. I am quick at picking things up but I am a bit iffy about doing a 2 week course. Any advice would be welcome

Thanks
John

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
They can teach you quite a bit but clearly the practise is what you'd be missing. Most let you call them up afterwards and ask more advice should you get a bit stuck. They'll show you how to tile most areas. Normally you'll find a more advanced stone course will be separate if you fancy doing a bit of stone work.

Long term you could do with perhaps getting a NVQ/SVQ. But a short course will certainly give you a good taste of tiling and show you the right tools and products to use etc.

There are some decent threads/discussions on courses in the tiling courses forum. Go check those out.

It's always worth going to check 2 or 3 training centres before booking on any so you can see what they're like etc. And don't always just go for the closest one because it's close. Sometimes it's well worth traveling to go to a decent one instead.

P

paul damian

Welcome john, if tiling is what you want to learn then a course is the first step , but it will only teach you the basics , there is soooooo! much to learn, stick around on here and you will learn so much more.

J

johnboy1

cheers paul. I c you r from donegal, do u know of any tiling courses in Ireland? I am from the North

P

paul damian