Search the forum,

Discuss Total beginner seeks advice from superior beings! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

A

Ant

Hi everyone

Great site, love what you do!

I've been a sprinkler fitter for 5 years. Looking to jump ship and learn a new trade. I'm unqualified with the sprinklers and a long way off fully trained. Problems are out of work more than in, due to less new builds, etc. and most of work tends to be in London (200 miles), with a young family wanna be at home more.

I've chose tiling, seen it done on many a building site, i just like the idea of creating a product that people can look at and admire, rather than boxed out of view. And the fact that it opens my options to residential jobs, rather than just scarce new build projects.

With the family, mortgage, etc, funds for training are the main issue.
I've looked into many a short course to get me started, most out of reach money wise. I have been to see Construction Skills College in Stoke about there 10 day course (60 mile away) and Ashton School of Tiling & Plastering (5 day tiling, 5 day plastering)(10 mile away). Was impressed with both.

I would love to do a longer course but just not an option. What I hope to do is complete a short course, i'm looking at Ashton - its #250 cheaper and a lot closer, and I have a few tiling jobs lined up for family members bathrooms, kitchen floors,etc, to give me some good practice.

With the job climate, and being a newbie, i'm unlikely to find a perm tiling job (though any offers welcome!). So i reckon if i feel confident enough after the course and family jobs, try going it alone. On my side I have good small business accounts, vat, tax skills (done my dads for years) and also good sales skills (prev worked selling on doors a few year back).

Please shoot holes in my masterplan, any advice much appreciated! :smilewinkgrin:

Ant:thumbsup:

D

david campbell

Re: Total eginner seeks advice from superior beings!