Discuss Tiny en-suite advice, in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Rudy45

TF
Reaction score
I’ve just finished pitting hardie backer in our very small en-suite, having set the sink and toilet in to see how it looks it’s dreadfully smaller.

Your head is in the sink when sitting on the toilet, it’s that tight.

And it’s going to be worse once tiling is done.

Should I think about tiling around the vainity sink and toilet to save a bit of space.

W

Waluigi

I would say not!

WC’s and Vanity Basins should always go in after the tiling. Not only is it a better finish, you have to think if anything ever happened to the WC, the replacement wouldn’t fit properly due to variations in the firing process of the China. The only exception is with fully fitted furniture. Sometimes people like that to go in first.

Do you have any Photos? I design Bathrooms for a living so might be able to offer advise. Sometimes it’s possible to shuffle over the vanity unit if the pipe work allows it within the unit.

Last edited by a moderator:

Boggs

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
What are the room dimensions?

D

Dumbo

I would say not!

WC’s and Vanity Basins should always go in after the tiling. Not only is it a better finish, you have to think if anything ever happened to the WC, the replacement wouldn’t fit properly due to variations in the firing process of the China. The only exception is with fully fitted furniture. Sometimes people like that to go in first.

Do you have any Photos? I design Bathrooms for a living so might be able to offer advise. Sometimes it’s possible to shuffle over the vanity unit if the pipe work allows it within the unit.
Stop bigging yourself up , you are a plumber who fits bathrooms

W

Waluigi

Sorry but I don’t want to get involved in petty arguments derailing threads so I’m bowing out as I’ve had a great day today so see no reason to spoil it :)

Rudy45

TF
Reaction score