Search the forum,

Discuss New member, complete beginner, can you help? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

O

olli.white

Hi,

I just joined, the names Olli, Im interested in doing a 4 week course, really with the aim of starting my own business afterwards. Can anyone give me any advise on start ups, courses, and just genrally the best way to go about things?

Cheers, Much appreciated.

Olli

Last edited by a moderator:
D

davy_G

Good luck Oli.
Im on my 3rd week out on my own after finishing a 4 week course with PTS in Harlow and am having to juggle jobs already. I only have around 3 weeks work infront of me but I am surprised how quickly the phone started to ring once I selectively handed out business cards.

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum Olli, checkout Diamond Training and Chase Tiling Academy too, both do 4 week courses.

Y

Yorkie

Hi Ollie, Welcome to the forums.
Don't rush and take your time ,visit if possible and then make an informed decision based on quality, content and of course reputation.

F

felix

Hi Olli welcome to the forums. I did the 4 week course at PTS in Harlow and I can definitely reccomend it. The course will teach you everything you need to get started. There after course support is good as well. They have helplines which you can phone them up to ask them anything ( I asked them how to get charcoal grout off my hands) Any questions you have will also be answered by the more experienced guys on here. Not seen them stumped yet

R

rubi

tiling is just not something you can learn an 4 weeks people should be giving you better advice about this

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Reaction score
tiling is just not something you can learn an 4 weeks people should be giving you better advice about this

You're right, it takes years of practice and trial and error even after you've done a year course. But how can one get into the trade without having a short course to start them off?

Last edited:
F

felix