Search the forum,

Discuss Full Bathroom "project" in the DIY Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

F

Falcone83

Hi,

I am new to the site and have started refurbishing my bathroom. I have only started ripping the old one out and have posted some pics of the job so far. there's pics of how it was previously also.

I have done a bit of tiling before (my kitchen floor, splashback, my mums hall floor and kitchen floor and one other job) and although I have never done a full bathroom before I am quite confident of doing this. I have a friend who is a joiner and another who is a plumber who said they would help when I need them.

I plan on posting the progress on here and I appreciate all help given.

I started taking the tiles off the wall and fond another set of tiles underneath which was a pain but the top layer of tiles had been dot and dabbed on so came off ok with a gentle but firm hit with a hammer.

I had to take the external wall back to the brick as it will need re plastered. I am reluctant to rip the bath and shower out until this is done as I cant go too much further until then. I have a downstairs toilet so these have been removed upstairs.

IMG_6063.JPG IMG_6064.JPG IMG_6082.JPG IMG_6086.JPG IMG_6193.JPG

T

Time's Ran Out

Don't replaster the outside wall, board it and tile direct to that. You have a greater weight tolerance on unplastered boards.

F

Falcone83

Don't replaster the outside wall, board it and tile direct to that. You have a greater weight tolerance on unplastered boards.

Ok thanks. I assumed it would need plastered, how will I build the window sill back up to make it square? Can this be done with plasterboard also?

F

Falcone83

Ok thanks, I will look into this rather than plaster.

I initially thought about strapping the back wall and putting plasterboard but when my friend who is a plasterer suggested just plastering it I thought that would be ok

T

Time's Ran Out

Ask a tiler what he'd want!