Search the forum,

Discuss Advice sought on new screed, uncoupling membranes etc in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

M

mpphillips

Hi everyone,

This is my first post and I'm seeking opinions regarding the formation of the gradient in a wetroom, uncoupling membranes and UFH so it probably falls between this forum and the UFH one. Hopefully I'm in the right place!

I guess some background would help: I'm planning the total refurb. of our bathroom which is downstairs at the back with a concrete floor (typical late Victorian end of terrace). I've got a builder coming-in to move the doorway and relocate the soil pipe, so we're going back to bare brick and taking up the existing screed down to the subfloor. We're not convinced that there's a reliable DPM or insulation below the screed so they'll both be installed before laying a new screed. My background is Engineering, so other than the heavy building work, I'm planning to do most of the work myself.

We want to go down the wetroom approach. The room has primary (central) heating but we want to install electric under-tile heating and I want to minimise warm-up time - with the implication that I need insulation immediately beneath the heating cable. I've got a bit stuck between to different approaches. Should I (i) Form gradients when laying the screed, use an uncoupling membrane (probably Dura-CI) then lay loose wire heating, self levelling compound and the tiles? or (ii) Lay a level screed, fit a pre-formed tray and butt-up tile backer boards to it, then the Dura-CI, heating, SLC etc?

I'm drawn to the first approach given that a new screed (sand and cement) will be going down and it'll save on materials and time, but will the absence of tile backer boards mean that too much heat goes down into the screed? Or does Dura-CI act as an effective thermal insulator and reflect the heat upwards into the tiles?

Also, while I'm here, a couple of other things: