Discuss Wickes spacer accuracy in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Reaction score
Being a retired engineer I always recon to have a good eye for measurements. so when I bought these spacers from wickes I had my doubts about their accuracy so stuck a couple in a pair of digital calipers. The 1mm spacer measured 1.72mm and 2mm spacer measured 2.42mm, so if you want a 2mm grout line you would be nearer by using a 1mm spacer. Think it might be worth buying some better quality ones.
_DSC5463.JPG
_DSC5464.JPG

I

Italy

Being a retired engineer I always recon to have a good eye for measurements. so when I bought these spacers from wickes I had my doubts about their accuracy so stuck a couple in a pair of digital calipers. The 1mm spacer measured 1.72mm and 2mm spacer measured 2.42mm, so if you want a 2mm grout line you would be nearer by using a 1mm spacer. Think it might be worth buying some better quality ones. View attachment 105973 View attachment 105975
apart from the measure,
are at least all the same?
otherwise you may have problems with tiling.
because the tiles are all well calibrated.

Reaction score
apart from the measure,
are at least all the same?
otherwise you may have problems with tiling.
because the tiles are all well calibrated.
Ok I might be being a bit of a geek here but lets face it, if you take the time and effort to mark a wall out using 100mm tiles only to find that you are 13mm out when you get to the ceiling surely it makes you think twice. Yes they are all the same.

W

Waluigi

I tend to use either Raimondi or Rubi Spacers. I’ve never accurately measured them though. Bloomin’ engineers ;)

I totally agree with you. It’s like anything, you have to have your wits about you and work it out on site with your levels and tape as you go.