Discuss Weber Set Trade S1, real problems! in the Adhesive and Grout area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

B

Billski

Hi all,

Has any one out there had any issues with using this Weber product over ply? Weber set trade S1 grey rapid.

I've never used it before as I always use their SPF rapid set, but noticed it for the first time in the tile shop and after speaking to the sales guy he talked me into giving it a go. "It is an S1 rated product", he said, " so is just as good as their SPF adhesive", he said...

The sub floor is very solid floor boards which are all screwed down, then over boarded with 18mm hard wood WBP ply ( I know it's not called that now but what ever the rating is now ), bought from my local builders merchants and I've been using the same stuff for years with no problems. All screwed down every 300mm with screws long enough to reach the floor joists, no movement, so the sub floor is as good as it can be. Tiled the floor in a couple of stages so some tiles have been down for 2 weeks and some for 2 days. Yet all the tiles are coming away from the ply, even the ones under the work top where the dishwasher will go. The tiles are only 300x300mm so nothing special, ceramic, all back buttered and fixed with a 12 mm trowel. The adhesive has fixed solid to the tile but nothing, and I mean nothing has fixed to the ply! Weber have suggested the ply has been coated in something or contaminated. Looks perfect to me. The ply is now a very dark colour from the contact with the adhesive.

I'm now waiting for Weber to hopefully send some one out to look at it as at first they wanted me to send them samples of the adhesive. I've used Weber for years with no problems to date so I'd hope they'd sort things as the tiles are now ruined.

Any one used it?

O

One Day

I've never used it on wood. I've used pallets of it on concrete/slc/ditra with no issues in the 18 months or so it's been available.