Make life easy, search the forum.

Discuss Uncoupling membrane vs no more ply, when & where? in the Tiling Advice | Tile Forum area at TilersForums. USA and UK Tiling Forum

S

Scott HAZARD

Please checkout the following advertisement.
Hi everyone, newbie here, have had previous tile experience and decided to give it another go, although this time self-employed. Have recently taken a crash course to scratch up on skills and give myself a better foundation of knowledge, cannot wait to get started.

I’m still a little confused with some subjects, I’m sure your good selves will know the answers.

1) Uncoupling membrane, used for lateral movement in a wooden/plywood and new concrete floors, old concrete without any appearance of cracks can go without the matt?

2) This leads straight into using no more ply on top of floorboards, instead of plywood, would this mean that you do not need the uncoupling membrane now?

3) If so, what size no more ply is recommended to install on a wooden floor? I’m sure; I’ve seen somewhere that you can install 6mm. But to hold this in your hand is flexible, I don’t see how this can be as strong as 12-18mm plywood.

4) Lastly, if a matt is installed, I’ve also read that you put standard non-flex https://www.tilersforums.com/forums/tile-adhesive/ down first and install the matt and flexi https://www.tilersforums.com/forums/tile-adhesive/ on top, is this right and what is the reason behind it?

OP
D

Dumbo

Personally I always use ply to strengthen floor with membrane on top and use flexible https://www.tilersforums.com/forums/tile-adhesive/ top and bottom.
I know some members will disagree but it works for .

OP
R

Rookery

I always use 6mm Hardie to over-board a timber floor, glued & screwed. I would only use an uncoupling membrane if I was fixing stone or on to a newish screed. Keraquick on every floor.

OP
S

Scott HAZARD