Discuss transition to recessed mat in the DIY Tiling Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Reaction score
Once the tiles are down the tile layer will be a little more than 10mm higher than the mat. I'm guessing I'll need to replace the metal trim with something higher which angles down onto the mat?

Reaction score
Thank you both.

The L shape trim with packing under the mat sounds a good solution in this case.

How much will the adhesive compress? 9mm tile + 12mm adhesive - ?mm compression will tell me what height trim to buy, but I've no experience to know if I'll lose 2mm 0r 8mm in compression?

T

Time's Ran Out

After the mat height - the bottom of the door will need altering, then the thresh ........

Reaction score
I think the tiles will most probably end up fairly level with the mat, with a 9mm tile plus adhesive, depending on how flat the floor is finished height would be around 12-15mm. I'd use a 10mm trim and some small plastic wedges to keep it tight to the tile. Might be worth going for a stainless steel trim as the aluminium ones only have a anodised coating that would wear off over time with foot traffic. The last mat well I tiled never had any trim (the customer's choice) but used the finished edge of the porcelain tile.

20180913_173201.jpg

Reaction score
I think the tiles will most probably end up fairly level with the mat, with a 9mm tile plus adhesive, depending on how flat the floor is finished height would be around 12-15mm. I'd use a 10mm trim and some small plastic wedges to keep it tight to the tile. Might be worth going for a stainless steel trim as the aluminium ones only have a anodised coating that would wear off over time with foot traffic. The last mat well I tiled never had any trim (the customer's choice) but used the finished edge of the porcelain tile.

View attachment 106059

That's a nice job you did!
I'll go with stainless, thanks for the tip.