Make life easy, search the forum.

Discuss Too Much Too Soon - Advice Please in the Tiling Advice | Tile Forum area at TilersForums. USA and UK Tiling Forum

W

Weebisto

Please checkout the following advertisement.
Hi all, so I'm fairly new to tile. I have always been very conscious of the fact that there is no substitute for experience, of which I have a minimal amount. After a relatively short course and a fair bit of practice I took on a number of small jobs to ease myself in, learn more and gain experience. So far so good - everyone happy. I then took on a bathroom - wall and floor - total nightmare. Disaster. Totally out of my depth and my confidence has taken an absolute battering, plus client refused to pay. Problem is I really love what I'm doing and I desperately want to get better. Is there anywhere that you guys can recommend that I could gain more practical experience? Loads of courses out there that are frankly more intense than the one I was on but don't know which would be best. Advice appreciated guys - I don't wanna let the trade down

OP
Q

Qwerty

It takes alot to acknowledge what you have said David, so hat off to you for that.
A course is really just a base to build from. Stay active on here, soak up the knowledge and experience, get to know a few local established pro's and see if you can assist them as a labourer? Attend the courses by companies such as Schluter, Mapei, Wedi, Kerakoll etc etc to gain knowledge of products.

OP
W

Weebisto

You need to get out in to the real world with a quality tiler...
It's all well and good tile display boards in a classroom environment, but it's a million miles away from what we face on a daily basis.
What went wrong with the bathroom you did..?