Discuss Tiling On Ufh? in the Tiling on Underfloor Heating area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

D

DriftFactory

Hi All,

I'm new on here, just started advertising to do Tiling and quickly found myself in deep water. I'm a Carpenter/Joiner by trade, so over the years iv done tones of Kitchens and Bathrooms and quite a few big floor areas too, but the first few jobs Iv been to see are pretty big, ones a Collage Kitchen and Dining hall, 420sq meters of flooring and 185sq meters of walls..

The second job is the one I need help with, some tiler has already been in and laid about 40sq meters, there's another 100 meters to do. 600mm sq porcelain tiles.
The tiles have been laid directly on top of the underfloor heating pipes and polystyrene base, there's no screed and no membrane. Guessing this will not be ok?

Iv never tiled on to this type of UFH without a screed, and Iv never used Ditra, I'm guessing it's a good idea to use Ditra, but should it be fixed down at all? Glued perhaps?
Also some advise on expansion joints/strips would be good too, never used them before

Any help and advise will be greatly appreciated. :)

Kind regards
Dale

D

DriftFactory

I havnt stared it, went to see it Saturday, stalling on putting a price in to do some research.

I presumed the poly stuff has been bonded down, it was done by a professional wet UFH company, it's around 1 or 2 million£ flat so they've spent the money and had it done properly, and it does look very neatly done.

Last edited by a moderator:
S

Spud