Discuss Rubi ts60 plus breaker problems in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

C

casioman

Hi, can anyone help here? I have Rubi ts60 that is breaking tiles around the breaker area on whole tile cuts only. This machine is new to me but second hand and seemed to work fine on test. I am new to tiling so I'm not sure if this is an equipment failure or user error? The tiles were 400 x 250 ceramic 9mm thick

C

casioman

Ahh, I think you might have it . the breaks where focused around the breaker and at the very end of the tile...which would follow what you have said. I will pay more attention to my scoring and see how I get on. Thanks

Alan.P

TF
Reaction score
You don't have to score too heavy with your tiles, just a nice consistent score end to end, see how it goes and let us know if your still having problems.

C

casioman

Thanks I will bear this in mind . One other thing that you could advise me on . when wall tiling , what is the best way to fit the last tile at floor level when you have floor boards? I the main issues being unevenness and movement ?

Alan.P

TF
Reaction score
Curing the movement IE screwing down the floorboards 'should' beat both problems, then just mark each cut on each tile, if it's going to be a huge difference then depending on floor finish you could cut them all to the same size, looks neater but as I said, floor finish, what are you having ?

C

casioman

hi the floor is going to be stained as the rest of the house has old oak floor boards so it would look out of character to tile. Thanks for the tips.

C

casioman

Better tools don't make up for lack of skill...I've got a long way to go before I'm good enough to own a sigma :hurray:

Alan.P

TF
Reaction score
hi the floor is going to be stained as the rest of the house has old oak floor boards so it would look out of character to tile. Thanks for the tips.