Discuss Opinion of tiling job so far in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

A

AngryBunny

Hello,

Please could any tilers provide their opinion of the tiling job I've had done so far. I'd like to share with him...

IMG_3721.JPG IMG_3723.JPG IMG_3725.JPG IMG_3726.JPG

O

One Day

Well it's good to see an interest in safety, however, I think he would be better off swapping the safety specs for some prescription specs.
I see major lippage, terrible trims with no mitres, chippy cuts and inexplicably large gaps.
Got any more pics, maybe less close up?

A

AngryBunny

He's due to come tomorrow to lay the UFH Mat.

I'm very tempted to tell him to collect his tools and leave. He's a plumber by trade but had good reviews on a well known site for fitting bathrooms.

I'm obviously a little apprehensive in doing that but I'm worried he's going to screw things up more.

IMG_3734.JPG IMG_3735.JPG

O

One Day

Is he cheap? Not meaning to be flippant but if there are many people who have reviewed him positively, perhaps they have lower expectations? Personally I couldn't live with it.

O

One Day

He's used tanking in the shower, ditra I can see, his set out looks OK from what I can see, just the lips gaps and mitres, attention to fine detail letting it down?

A

AngryBunny

No, he's not particularly cheap.

The bathroom suite is all german brands and good quality tiles.

I chose him mainly as he was a gas safe registered plumber (I didn't want the bathroom to leak, water). I assumed he would be professional.

His labour costs are £xxxx for a small ensuite - wetroom (3 sq metres).

The ensuite costs about xxxxk in total.

I've paid him xxxxk already so I'm thinking of telling him I am going to get a third party to review his work and I am stopping all work with immediate effect. I am feeling pressured by him to complete the job so I think this is best.

Last edited by a moderator:
A

AngryBunny