Discuss Not Bad For A Pen Pusher. in the Australia area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

T

Tile Shop

I wasn't going to disclose where i worked for fear of being lynched. But if i'm to upload these pics, it'll kinda give it away. So i don't care anymore.

So. As stated in the "say good morning" thread, boss gave me (a complete novice) a chance to have a go at real work. We've had a new (very wonky) kitchen installed at work in one of the rest rooms and told me to have a go at tiling it. How hard can it be, right?

I'll tell you how hard. I could never do it for a living. I use pens, keyboards, mice, graphic tablets and can design anyones room using CAD. But i figured out which side of the trowel should be used to scoop out my adhesive and cracked on..... only after messing up three freshly mixed buckets of slowset. Well i'd never done it before and over did the water. All part of the learning.

The walls were pretty unlevel, so did my best to level some bits out by spreading on both the wall and the tile. Was tempted just to try a single dotted and dabbed tile but would only find myself feeling guilty every time i go in there, so i didn't.

Not bad for a complete novice i don't think. Need practice. Need to start somewhere. Need to practice siliconing. Need to practice mitring trims for sure. They're not great but still put the pic up to prove i made an effort. Took me two days but that was with alot of interruptions and customer service questions. Have the floor to do aswell but that'll have to wait til the new year. Can't wait.

So about the golden turd award.... have i won it?

20151222_155229.jpg 20151222_173020.jpg 20151222_173131.jpg 20151222_173005.jpg 20151222_155309.jpg

Dhtiling

TF
Arms
Reaction score