Discuss New bloke, bathroom floor advice please in the The Welcome Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

T

tiggrrr

Good morning, I am a reasonably competent diy-er always looking to improve my skills. I am currently about to start a bathroom floor that is 'L'- shape and I have 600 x 300mm tiles to lay on 18mm floor boards covered with 9mm plywood screwed down at 150mm centres.
How best to prepare the plywood?;
What size tile spacers?
Can I lay the tiles in a straight bond length-ways from the door and then where the 'L' is have a left turn at right angles so there is a herringbone effect just across the angle or would that be considered unethical?
Appreciate any advise, thank you.

O

One Day

Hi. First off plywood is a very risky substrate these days, mainly due to the gossamer thin veneer many have and the dodgy resins used. As a professional I would refuse to tile onto ply unless it is the new flooring grade ply and minimum 18mm as an overlay.
If you really want to keep your ply, then I'd recommend using a layer of ditra matting stuck down using ardex af207 adhesive, specifically designed for ply.
Otherwise, overlay with a 6mm cement board first.
As for your pattern idea, I've done it before and it can look good but dry-lay the area before you commit to it, to make sure the spacing works for you.

T

Tommcd

I'd be tempted to ditch the herringbone idea as I think it would look weird with that size of tile. I'd just go with the orientation you want to see from the doorway as you enter the room and stick with that right through. Of course it's up to you. You also have to remember that if the external angle is slightly out of square and you have made it a focal point it might look a bit naff.

G

GoneGuy

Hi tiggrrr and welcome to the forum,
I would have to agree with @impish I wouldn’t tile over ply. I would recommend using a cement board such as hardiebacker,no more ply etc.