Discuss I need a professionl opinion on tiling and the price in the Canada area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

A

AAW

Hello All,

I posted back in September and you were all very helpful with your advice on what to do about shade variation in my white bathroom tiles.

Anyway, same bathroom same tiles but I have an issue with the tiling itself and also how much they quoted.

The tiling I feel took a lot longer than it should have (around 5 days), this wouldn't bother me but the finish I don't think is great. The tiler came via my builder who we have used for most of the work in our flat and have generally been happy and any issues he has put right however I don't think the tiler he used is a tiler by trade, I have asked him if this is the case and he hasn't answered.

Here are some pics of the job. We ordered 17m2 of tiles and had about 4 boxes left over - to give you a rough idea of size. The tiles are 100 x 100 mm and we asked for 1mm gaps. He quoted £350 to make good walls and ceiling and £1,100 for the tiling then a 10% discount due to client loyalty (however resulted in this being potentially a side job). As you will notice from the images I don't know that adequate making good to walls etc was done as the tiles in places are not flat and in one of the images you will see that around the top of the wall there is a large gap that has been filled in and this varies in size around the room. There are also places where he has left in the spacers, no grout and it is just brown and when certain areas get wet the grout turns brown.
IMG_1978.jpg IMG_1979.jpg IMG_1981.jpg IMG_1982.jpg IMG_1983.jpg IMG_1984.jpg IMG_1985.jpg IMG_1986.jpg IMG_1988.jpg IMG_1992.jpg