Discuss Hi Y'all, newbie in need of some help!! in the The Welcome Forum area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Reaction score
Hi all, I am a carpenter/general builder of 25 years and have been lurking in the shadows around here picking up tips for the many bathroom and kitchens that I do.

Don't worry, I'm not a "dot and dabber" : ), in fact, I'm very picky about my tiling !

I've finally joined as I have a problem with my wetroom at home and wanted some professional advice before going any further!

I bought a kit from ebay with the form, latex, skrim and corner parts and did as the instructions advised, one year later and I notice some grout loose, followed by a wet spot on the ceiling below.
I took up the tiles this morning and found that there is loads of water underneath, the adhesive and also the latex seems not to have made a good bond with the board. On taking up the tiles, I noticed that some of the tanking is now ripped, I suppose I will have to remove the first course of wall tiles and completely re-tank the whole floor and lower wall, or is there a chance I can get away with sealing evrything down with a new tanking coat?

IMG_20171102_090809[1].jpg IMG_20171102_090829[1].jpg IMG_20171102_090836[1].jpg

Last edited:
Reaction score
...Quick update on this...

I have found that it wasn't the material (skirm) that has torn, just the latex, I'm cleaning it up now and think I may be able to get a membrane to lay underneath the corners and skrim, stick it down and seal the edges to it.
There also seems to be water penetrating around the ring of the waste, I'm thinking I could run the new membrane into the edge of the drain to stop this happening again..

...(awaits someone who understands what I'm rattling on about) :)

O

Old Mod

Hi and welcome to the forum,
is Slippery just your username, or your personality type? :p