Make life easy, search the forum.

Discuss Hi... new member after advice in the The Welcome Forum area at TilersForums. USA and UK Tiling Forum

J

JJJimmy

Please checkout the following advertisement.
Hi, brilliant forum! Im Jim from Hampshire. Briefly been browsing and some really good info.

I am completely new to tile and i am hoping to learn enough to tile my own bathroom walls and my kitchen splashback.

I am after a bit of advice, hopefully i can add some pics to give you a better idea of what im explaining.

I wanted to get both my bathroom floor and my kitchen floor tiled in my small flat. Both floors were concrete base. For the floors i thought it was best to get a professional to do it. I found a tiler on checkatrade with very good reviews, albeit for a variety of different jobs, plumbing etc too. He came round and quoted me £200 plus materials for both floors. That sounded good so i booked him in. I already had the 60x30 porcelain tiles purchased ready. He said he was a plumber too so would remove the toilet and tile under etc.

The day of the job came and i left him to it. I have attached photos of the bathroom before and after the first day. The dust was ridiculous. He left all his tools, the only cutter i could see was a grinder. Is that normal to use for porcelain tiles?

So the next day he came and finished the job and grouted it all up and put the toilet back on. The toilet was not drilled back onto the tiles, he said just put silicone around the base and itll be fine, is that ok to do? My guess is he didnt want to drill the tiles but not sure the norm?

A few days later i noticed the grout cracking in the kitchen and falling out. When i inspected the tiles more closely, the tiles affected sounded hollow when i tapped them, is that normal? Quite a few are hollow sounding.