Discuss Any advice would be greatly appreciated in the Australia area at TilersForums. The USA and UK Tiling Forum (Also now Aus, Canada, ROI, and more)

Diydaz

TF
Reaction score
I have completed tiling and now i am ready to fit my Bath but as per bloody usual i have messed up i have tiled the wall that the bath will sit against too close to the floor I believe...I know the bath will have to sit on a batton that is fixed to the wall but as explained i have tiled most f the way down ,can i fix the baton to the tile to support the bath or will there be too much weight on it.... i have included a pic please don’t judge its my first attempt at tiling never done it before ...

8F28D0F7-7B0D-4440-94DE-1EC1CADD5A67.jpeg

Bathfix Bob

TF
Arms
Reaction score
Looks good for first attempt, is the wall square? If not you could just remove the tiles on the tap end and let it in. Ideally take the whole row out where the bath sits against. Have you used ready mixed adhesive?

Diydaz

TF
Reaction score
Yes i think the wall is square, yes i used ready mixed adhesive...don’t really want to take tile off but is this the only option ? Would the batton not fix to the tile if i drilled a large hole in them so it does not touch the tile and fix the batton to the tile? I think if i did remove the tile i am going to end up with a slither to put in and i would of thought it might cause problems but what do i know hey...had enough of it now tbh i seem to be going 2 steps forward 5 back lol ...don’t laugh but could i build a frame at the back like you do at the front to save the heartache of knocking the tiles off if i build it from the floor upwards ?

Last edited:

Diydaz

TF
Reaction score
A few more pics , there is going to be a pvc strip at the top of the wall where is slopes at the window just to make it look neater...

050660FD-9435-455F-9B90-9B7E96B975A7.jpeg 160ACF5E-BB95-4755-8ACA-80F3284D1254.jpeg C2DD4DBD-8C76-4F4B-B2E4-E8DB9949B132.jpeg

W

Waluigi